Shrimp and Scallops with Prosciutto and Minted Pea Puree

I adapted this recipe from the April 2011 Bon Appetit.  My favorite mail day used to be the day that my Martha Stewart Living arrived, now it’s when the new Bon Appetit arrives.  I find myself carrying it around the house with me in case I can sneak a look at it in between diaper changes and Imagination Movers.  I added the prosciutto for a little more flavor. This dinner felt like a warm spring day.  The colors and flavors made for a light and delicious dinner.  The best part is the whole thing can be made in about 20 minutes.  Serves 2-3

  • 2 1/4 C. frozen peas
  • 2 T. grated Parmesan
  • 2 T. fresh mint leaves, divided
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 3 thin slices of prosciutto, chopped
  • 6-8 large sea scallops
  • 6-8 jumbo shrimp, peeled, tails left on
  • Salt and pepper

Boil the peas in salted water for about three minutes.  Transfer them with a strainer the food processor, reserving about 1/2 C. of the cooking liquid.  Add the cheese, 1 T. of the mint, butter, and garlic to the peas and process until smooth and light, adding a little cooking liquid if needed to thin it.  Set aside covered while you cook the shellfish.

In a skillet, heat the olive oil on medium and add the prosciutto.   Cook until the prosciutto is crispy.  Remove it from the pan to a plate.  Season the shrimp and scallops with salt and pepper.  Cook in the same skillet for about two minutes per side.  The shrimp and scallops take pretty much the same amount of time to cook.  You want them to have a little golden brown color on the outside and opaque on the inside.

To plate the dish, spoon some of the warm pea puree onto the plate (you can rewarm it in the microwave if you need to).  Place two or three shrimp and two or three scallops on top.  Sprinkle with prosciutto and the rest of the fresh mint.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Quick Dinners, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrimp and Scallops with Prosciutto and Minted Pea Puree

  1. Kathy says:

    The pea puree fascinates me. How else could it be served? Does it count as a vegetable or a garnish? How would other herbs like basil or chives work to flavor it?

Leave a Reply

