Thai (Sort of) Peanut Noodles

 

I love the peanut sauce from our local Thai restaurant.  Tom Yum is an unassuming little place with friendly service and lighting fast take-out.  We love the salad rolls with peanut dipping sauce.  I decided to try to recreate the sauce for a noodle dish I’ve been imagining.  My friend Brennan’s peanut sauce recipe also inspired this dish.  Both of my kids LOVED it and no one knew it was whole wheat spaghetti under all that peanut buttery yumminess…

  • 1 pound whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1/2 C. creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 C. hoisin sauce
  • 2 T. fresh lime juice
  • 1/8 C. soy sauce
  • 1/2 C. coconut milk
  • 3 scallions, sliced
  • 1/4 C. peanuts, chopped
  • 1/4 C. fresh cilantro, chopped 

Cook the spaghetti according to the package directions.  Meanwhile, combine the peanut butter, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, lime juice, and coconut milk in a saucepan over medium-low heat.  Stir until the peanut butter is melted and the sauce is completely smooth.  Drain the spaghetti and toss with the sauce.  Top with the scallions, peanuts, and cilantro.  This dish can be served hot or cold, however, cooling caused the sauce to thicken, so if you like it smooth and creamy, hot is prefered.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Asian, Quick Dinners, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thai (Sort of) Peanut Noodles

  1. Kathy Minor says:

    Tom Yum is our favorite Thai restaurant too. Thank you for creating this recipe.We will enjoy!

  2. Carrie says:

    It’s a great place to have in the neighborhood! This dish isn’t exactly authentic Thai, but the sauce is as close as I could get to theirs. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

