One Pan Chicken Meatloaf with Roasted Root Vegetables

I daydream about make-ahead meat loaf.  One that I could mix and prep before bed or before work and then pop it in the oven when I get home.  This never happens.  I finally realized the reason is because my meatloaf required too much prep time.  This is based on Ina’s turkey meatloaf with a few changes.  She sautéed the onions before adding them to the mix, as well as cooked it in one loaf pan, total prep plus cooking time: 2 hours!  This version skips the sautéing step and by forming two smaller loaves on a baking sheet, cuts the cooking time down as well!

  • 2 lbs. ground chicken, preferably dark meat
  • 1 C. diced yellow onion
  • 3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 2 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 T. tomato paste
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C. panko crumbs
  • 1 large turnip
  • 1 large rutabega
  • 1 yam
  • 1 large red beet
  • 1 T. olive oil

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  In a large bowl combine chicken, onion, thyme, salt and pepper, Worcestershire, tomato paste, eggs, and panko crumbs.  I use my hands to mix it all together.  Divide the mixture into two loaves and place on a greased baking sheet.  Place the sheet into the oven to bake for 10 minutes. 

Meanwhile, peel and chop the root vegetables into bite sized pieces.  Coat with the olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  Remove the pan from the oven.  Arrange the veggies around the two loaves and return to the oven.  Bake for 45 minutes.  Allow the meatloaf to rest for about 5 minutes before cutting and serving.   

    

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Pan Chicken Meatloaf with Roasted Root Vegetables

  1. Libby says:

    Hi Carrie – this recipe was yummy! Next time, I’m going to roast the veggies on a separate sheet, though. My oven is a bit tempermental and did not treat the veggies well. I also threw in a parsnip and a couple of baby potatoes for good measure.

Leave a Reply

