Braised Pork Ravioli

My husband doesn’t like cheese (gasp), so I don’t cook with a lot of cheese.  I do love ravioli, but it’s almost impossible to find a store-bought ravioli that isn’t stuffed with lots of cheese.  By the way, since when is four different cheeses such an amazing culinary treat?  Four cheese ravioli, four cheese pizza, four cheese pasta!  Give me a break!  As if you could possibly taste all those different cheeses in one dish.  I’m starting to rant.  Here is a meat filled ravioli with just a tiny bit of cheese for flavor. 

This recipe makes enough ravioli for six people, or you can prepare it all and freeze half of it for another night. 

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 1/2 onion, diced 
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 32 oz. can San Marzano tomatoes (substitute Italian Plum tomatoes)
  • 1/4 C. mascarpone
  • 2 lb. prepared pasta dough, I doubled my pasta recipe
  • water
  • parmesan cheese

In a Dutch oven with a lid, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Season the pork tenderloin with salt and pepper and brown on all sides in the oil.  Add the onions to the pan.  Pour in the can of tomatoes.  Cover and simmer for 2 hours on medium low.  The pork will be very tender and easily shredded with a fork.  Remove the pork and the large bits of tomato with a slotted spoon and transfer to a bowl to cool.  Increase the heat in the pan to medium high and bring the tomato sauce to a boil.  Let it reduce and thicken for about 20 minutes.  Set the sauce aside. 

Place the pork and tomatoes into the food processor with the mascarpone and pulse a few times until the ingredients are combined and the pork is a sort of chunky paste.  Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate until ready to use. 

Roll your pasta dough out into long, thin rectangles- mine was a #6 on my pasta machine. 

 

Use lots of semolina or white flour to keep the pasta from sticking.  Place the rectangles on a floured board and drop the filling by teaspoonfuls onto the pasta.  Sprinkle a little parmesan onto each spoonful of meat. 

Brush the edges with water.  Fold the pasta over the filling and use a ravioli wheel to crimp and cut the edges. 

This recipe makes about 48 ravioli.  Keep refrigerated until ready to use.

To cook the ravioli, bring a large pot of water to a boil and drop the ravioli in.  The ravioli will take about four or five minutes to cook.  You know they are ready when they are floating at the top.  Remove them with a Chinese strainer or slotted spoon to a warmed serving bowl.  Top with the warmed, reserved sauce and some more parmesan cheese. 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Italian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Braised Pork Ravioli

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    Hoping I get to try some while visiting this week. Looks mighty good!

  2. Andrea R. says:

    My father-in-law doesn’t like cheese either. I’ll pass this on to my MIL. If I had my way, I’d live in France and live off of baguettes and cheese for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

