One Hour Coq Au Vin

Julia’s Coq Au Vin requires about twice as much time and a few more ingredients.  Here is my simplified version.  If you’ve never tried Coq Au Vin before, think of it as chicken that took a bath in bacon and red wine, and was then smothered in a red wine gravy…yes please!

  • 4 T. butter, divided
  • 4 slices of bacon, chopped
  • 1 whole chicken, cut into 8 pieces, breasts halved horizontally
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 C. cognac, substitute brandy
  • 3 C. full bodied red wine, I used Kiona’s Cab-Merlot 2005
  • 1-2 C. chicken stock
  • 1 T. tomato paste
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 3 T. flour
  • fresh parsley garnish

In a large Dutch oven, melt 2 T. of the butter and add the bacon.  Cook and stir until the bacon begins to brown.  Remove the bacon to a plate with a slotted spoon.  Place the chicken pieces in the hot fat and brown on each side.  Season with salt and pepper, return the bacon to the pan, add the onion, reduce the heat to low and cover with the lid.  Cook for 10 minutes.  Remove the lid and add the cognac.  Quickly light the cognac with a lighted match (averting your face) and shake the pot back and forth until the flame is gone, about 20 seconds.  Pour the wine over the chicken and add enough chicken broth to cover the chicken.  Add the tomato paste, garlic, and thyme. 

Bring to a simmer.  Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes.  Remove the chicken to a plate and keep warm.  Increase the heat and bring the pot of wine to a rapid boil.  Boil and reduce by half.  This will take about 10 minutes.  In a small bowl combine the rest of the butter with the flour to make a paste.  Quickly whisk in the flour paste to the boiling wine.  In less than 1 minute the sauce should thicken like gravy.  Pour the sauce over the chicken, garnish with the parsley and serve with lots of French bread for mopping up the sauce.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Hour Coq Au Vin

  1. Kelsey Ferreira says:

    Hi! I absolutely love your blog–my dad shared it with me after Harley forwarded him the link to your Pok Pok wings! Have you tried the white wine coq au vin recipe from Sunset? My husband and I love it, especially with lots of fresh herbs. I look forward to your posts and will have to try your recipe for the quick red wine version of coq au vin, looks delicious!!

    • Carrie says:

      Hi Kelsey,
      Thanks for reading the blog, I’m glad you like it! The Sunset recipe sounds great, I will take a look at it. Thanks again!

  2. Andrea R. says:

    Yum. Trying this one this week.

Leave a Reply

