In Love With Leftovers #2 Roasted Potato Frittata

My mother always says, “When life gives you leftover roasted potatoes, make a frittata”.  No, she doesn’t actually say that, but she did give me some tips on how to make a great frittata.  As a matter of fact, my mother deserves a lot of credit for making me the cook I am today.  Several of my recipes are variations of hers and I often look to her for advice before attempting a new recipe.  Long story short, I had some leftover roasted potatoes in the fridge.  I decided to slice them up and make a frittata for lunch.  You must use a skillet that is oven safe- no plastic handles!  The skillet I used was rather small, only 7 inches across.  The wider the skillet, the more the filling will spread and the faster it will cook.  Cooking time for this recipe is based on my 7 inch skillet.

  • 1 C. sliced, leftover roasted potatoes
  • 1 t. olive oil
  • 3/4 C. chopped fresh spinach
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/8 C. milk
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 C. shredded provolone cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Heat the oil in an ovenproof small skillet over medium heat.  Swirl the oil around a little as it heats to coat the bottom and sides of the skillet.  Arrange the potato slices to cover the bottom of the pan.  Sprinkle the spinach evenly over the potatoes.  Season with salt and pepper, and add another layer of sliced potatoes.

Let it cook for about 1 minute without disturbing it.  In a small bowl, combine the eggs and milk and  scramble it with a fork.  Pour the egg mixture into the pan.  Sprinkle the cheese over the top.

Place the whole pan in the oven and cook for 10-14 minutes, or until golden brown and set.  If you use a wider pan it will take less time to cook, but the frittata will be thinner.  Allow the frittata to cool for about 10 minutes.  Run a knife around the edge to loosen it before inverting it onto a plate for easier cutting and serving.

    

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Leftovers, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Love With Leftovers #2 Roasted Potato Frittata

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    This fritatta also fit so nicely on your plate. I may have to get a heavy 7 inch pan.

  2. judy says:

    I have learned a lot from your mom over the years too. You are both incredible cooks.

Leave a Reply

