Bacon Onion Jam

Yes, you read that correctly, it says bacon onion jam.  I’ve read about this concoction a few times in magazines, and today I thought, why not give it a try?  I’m so glad I did.  It is to die for.  Salty, smoky, sweet, sour, oozing, bacony goodness.  We ate ours with a steak and spinach salad.  I would spread it on bruschetta, use it as a condiment for pork chops, in a sandwich, the list is endless.

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 7 slices of thick, meaty bacon, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • 1/4 C. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 C. brewed coffee
  • 1/4 C. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/8 C. dark molasses
  • salt to taste

In a heavy bottomed saucepan, heat the olive oil and add the bacon and onion slices.  Cook and stir until the onion becomes translucent.  Add the garlic cloves, vinegar, coffee, brown sugar, and molasses.  Stir to combine.  Pour the whole thing into the slow cooker.  Cook on high for 2 1/2 hours.  After 2 1/2 hours, balance the lid so that it is not completely covering the pot, and allows steam to escape.  This will help the mixture to reduce, thicken, and take on it’s lovely caramel-brown color.  Continue to cook for another hour or until almost all of the liquid is gone.  Pour the mixture into the Cuisinart and pulse for a few seconds, until the jam is spreadable but not too smooth.  This will keep in the fridge for a week or so.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bacon Onion Jam

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    Did Henry get to help with the “concoction” as I know how he enjoys “concoctions”?
    Sounds really good and I just knew you were going to do something with the left over bruschetta. Yum!

Leave a Reply

