Fondant Carrot Patch Cake

For my son’s 1st birthday I made a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting.  I have wanted to make a cake that looked like a veggie garden for years, ever since I saw it in Martha Stewart Living.  She made a spring garden cake with marzipan veggies and a fondant picket fence.  I took the idea and made it my own by creating the carrots and fence out of fondant.  Here is a link to an easy marshmallow fondant recipe: http://candy.about.com/od/fondantcandyrecipes/r/mm_fondant.htm

To color the fondant, simply make a well in the center of the fondant and squeeze in a few drops of food coloring.  Pinch the fondant together and slowly knead it until the color is all incorporated.

       

I used a garlic press to make the carrot tops.

     

We brushed on cocoa powder for an earthy look.

To assemble the cake I frosted it with cream cheese frosting that I tinted green.

http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/perfect-cream-cheese-frosting

Then I sprinkled green tinted coconut around the base for grass.  To tint the coconut I simply put it in a plastic bag with a couple drops of food coloring and shook it until it was a uniform green color.

Next I used paper strips as guidelines for my chocolate cookie crumb “dirt”.

  

Then we removed the strips and “planted” the carrots.

  

The final touch was the picket fence that I made by rolling out untinted fondant and cutting it with a pizza cutter.

The cake was a big hit!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fondant Carrot Patch Cake

  1. Rebecca says:

    Pretty awesome cake! Congrats on George’s first birthday and a beautiful cake!!

  2. Amy Ballard says:

    This is SO cute!! I’ll have to find a reason to make this myself!

Leave a Reply

