Food Snob Slow Cooker Chili

Food Snob Slow Cooker Chili    

How can the words “food snob” and “slow cooker” be in the same sentence you ask?  I love using a slow cooker, but it always makes me feel a little bit like I’m cheating.  This chili calls for a few sophisticated ingredients that make it a little more noteworthy (and snobby).

  • 1 t. Olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 lb. bulk chicken Italian sausage
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 t. each salt and pepper
  • 2-4 dried red chilies, chopped
  • 1 t. ground cumin
  • 1 t. smoked Spanish paprika
  • ¼ t. cayenne pepper
  • 1 28 oz. can San Marzano tomatoes with juice
  • 3 15oz. cans of beans, I use kidney beans, white beans, and black beans

A note about ingredients:  The chilies I use are very small and hot, so it’s up to you how many to use.  If you don’t care for heat you can leave them out.  The tomatoes are from Italy and they are tart.  They give the chili a tangy flavor.  If you can’t find them you can substitute any canned tomato, but I would suggest adding a teaspoon or two of vinegar.  As for the beans, I like to use three different types for color and interest.  In the summer I always add fresh basil at the end.

     

Turn your slow cooker on low and pour in the olive oil.  Scatter the onion over the bottom of the pot.  Add the sausage, garlic, and all the spices.  Open the can of tomatoes and use a pair of scissors to cut them up right in the can.  Pour the can with all the juice into the pot.  Pour all three cans of beans into the pot, there is no need to drain them or rinse them.  Give it a quick stir to combine.  Cover the slow cooker and allow the chili to cook on low for at least 6 hours.  Garnish with fresh cilantro.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Snob Slow Cooker Chili

  1. 'rolloverLinkColor'/ says:

    Yes! Finally someone writes about easy.

Leave a Reply

