Making Fresh Pasta Uno-o-Uno

Fresh Pasta 101

Making pasta at home is really very easy with the right ingredients and tools.  You probably have everything you need to make pasta already in your kitchen- except maybe the pasta rolling machine!  I am using an Atlas Marcato machine that my mom bought in Italy in the 1980’s.  You can use all-purpose flour, though I prefer a combination of white flour and semolina flour.  Bob’s Red Mill semolina is excellent for this. 

  • 3/4 C. semolina
  • 3/4 C. all purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 2 T. water

Mario Batali will tell you to mix the dough on the countertop, but Mario doesn’t have to clean up the kitchen and sweep the flour off the floor, so I use a large bowl.

         

Combine the flours and salt in the bowl with a fork.  Make a well in the center of the bowl and crack the eggs in with the oil and water.  Using the fork, combine the mixture until it looks like crumbled cookie dough.  Now use your hands to knead the dough until elastic- about 2 minutes.  If the dough feels too sticky, roll it in a little bit of flour and knead a few times.  The dough needs to be covered with plastic wrap and allowed to rest for about 20 minutes before rolling.

         

To roll the pasta, start with a flattened disk about the size of small dinner roll.  Always start with the lowest setting on the pasta machine.  Roll the ball through on the #1 setting, then switch to #2 and roll it through again.  The pasta will get thinner and longer. 

    

Continue switching the setting and rolling through until you get to #5.  This is a good setting for lasagna or ravioli.  For long pasta I usually roll it to a #6.  Remember to place your rolled pasta onto a floured pan so it doesn’t stick together.  You are now ready to cut your pasta to the desired shape!  My next post will use this recipe for a Lasagna with Chicken and Spinach.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Italian, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Fresh Pasta Uno-o-Uno

  1. Kathy Minor says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I will pass it on.

  2. Pingback: Braised Pork Ravioli | swellkid

Leave a Reply

