Slavic Slaw with Paprika Vinaigrette

IMG_1739

My husband loves cabbage.  Weird I know.  Who loves cabbage? “Like” cabbage, yes.  “Enjoy” cabbage, sure. Love it? He also happens to love root vegetables like turnips and radishes, so when I came across this salad in Food and Wine magazine I actually read the recipe out loud to him.  He got pretty excited. Incidentally, my youngest was begging me for leaves of cabbage to munch while I was making this, so I guess it’s hereditary. This is a beautiful salad to serve for guests at a summer barbecue.  Prep and chill all the ingredients ahead and toss with the dressing at the last-minute.  You want cold and crisp for this one. I used a mandolin slicer to do the julienned radishes, apples, and turnips.  You could also use a food processor with the grating attachment, but I liked that using the mandolin gave it a more handmade texture with pieces of all different sizes.  I made a few substitutions, but if you want the official recipe click here. My dressing is a bit sweeter and if I made this again I would add more apple. Serves 4.

  • 1 T. minced shallot
  • 1 T. Dijon mustard
  • juice of 1/2 lemon, about 1/8 C.
  • 1/8 C. white wine vinegar
  • 2 t. honey
  • 1t. smoked paprika
  • 1/4 C. olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 head of green cabbage, shredded
  • 1/4 head of red cabbage, shredded
  • 1 green apple, julienned (i didn’t peel it)
  • 1/2 C. flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 C. cilantro, chopped
  • 4 scallions, sliced into thin strips, vertically (they curl up in the ice bath)
  • 2 small turnips, peeled and julienned
  • 3 large radishes, julienned

Prepare a large bowl of ice water and set aside.  Combine the shallot, mustard, lemon juice, vinegar, honey, paprika, and olive oil in a jar and shake it to emulsify.  Taste for salt and pepper and season to your taste.  Set aside.  As you prepare your vegetables, place them into the ice bath.  Slice the cabbage, plunk into the ice bath.  Slice the apple, ice bath.  And so on.  All the veggies and herbs can sit in the ice bath until you are ready to serve the salad.  Or, if you are prepping ahead, let them sit in the bath for about 15-20 minutes, drain, and place into a bowl in the fridge until ready to use. The ice bath keeps everything super fresh tasting and crisp.  When ready to serve, drain well and toss with the dressing.

 

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Quick Dinners, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slavic Slaw with Paprika Vinaigrette

  1. I love cabbage too. This looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

