Coconut Vinaigrette

IMG_1673

This dressing is at once both tart and rich.  Creamy and mellow, bright and tangy, all at the same time!  I served it over butter lettuce and it was heaven.  This is a perfect salad to serve alongside an Asian or seafood meal.

Making a vegan salad dressing creamy and rich can be a challenge.  We aren’t vegan in my house, but we often host vegans and try to eat a meatless meal here and there.  The point is, it’s nice to have a recipe up your sleeve that you can serve to vegans that everyone will enjoy and doesn’t require you to obtain ingredients you are unfamiliar with or are difficult to find.

  • 1/4 C. full fat coconut milk (I prefer Thai brands because they tend to be thicker, and before you go all crazy on me about hard to find ingredients, I buy it at Safeway, so there.)
  • 1/8 C. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/8 C. olive oil
  • pinch of salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a jar, cover tightly and shake until smooth.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  Store in the fridge for a day or two. Shake well before using.

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Asian, Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut Vinaigrette

  1. Kristin Smith Carlson says:

    I made this and put it on shredded cabbage!! Yummo Thanks C2 Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

