Peanut Butter Bon Bons for Kids, Rum Pecan Bon Bons for Grown Ups

 

IMG_1199

Here are two easy, quick, no-bake candies that make a bunch and please a crowd.  You can also make both of these vegan just by using a margarine like Earth Balance instead of butter.

Peanut Butter Bon Bons

Peanut Butter Bon Bons

Peanut Butter Bon Bons have been in my family for as long as I can remember.  My Grandma would always make them and bring them over for Christmas Eve.  My brother and I would sneak them all evening.  I used a mix of almond butter and peanut butter, but  ou could use almost any nut butter that you like.  They are also naturally gluten-free!

  • 1/2 C. butter or margarine
  • 4 C. powdered sugar
  • 3 C. puffed rice cereal such as Rice Crispies
  • 2 C. nut butter.  I used half peanut and half almond
  • 1/2 stick paraffin wax, chopped (find this in the baking aisle)
  • 12 oz. chocolate chips (some varieties of semi sweet chips are vegan)

Mix together the butter, sugar, cereal, and nut butter until a dough forms.  Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and place on a sheet of waxed paper or parchment paper.  In a double boiler, or heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, combine the chocolate chips and chopped wax.  The wax helps to make the chocolate fluid and glossy.  I know it seems weird to eat wax, but it doesn’t affect the flavor, I promise.  If it’s too weird for you, buy those candy melt things.  I’ve never used them, but I’m sure it would give the same results.  Dip each ball into the melted chocolate and set on the waxed paper to harden. I found it easier to use a spoon to coat them. Store at room temperature for up to a week, or freeze.  Makes about 4 dozen

Rum Pecan Bon Bons

These are just boozy enough to make them off-limits for kids and a favorite for grown-ups.

  • 1 cup Nilla wafer crumbs
  • 1 cup pecans (process in the food processor into fine crumbs)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup dark rum
  • 1 1/2 T. light corn syrup
  • 1 stick softened butter or margarine
  • more powdered sugar for rolling

Combine the Nilla wafers, pecans, powdered sugar, cocoa powder, rum, and corn syrup until well combine.  Use your hands to knead in the softened butter until combined.  If it seems too sticky to roll, add a bit more powdered sugar.  If it’s too dry and crumbly, add a bit more rum, a T. at a time.  Roll the dough into one inch balls, then roll each ball in powdered sugar.  These develop their flavor as time passes, and the rum mellows a bit.  You can eat them right away, but I think two days ahead is perfect. These also freeze very well, but will probably require a second coating of powdered sugar before serving.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Gluten Free, Holidays and Special Occasions, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanut Butter Bon Bons for Kids, Rum Pecan Bon Bons for Grown Ups

  1. Ruth says:

    Mmmmm. A sweet post!
    Looks like fun to make.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    Now you’re talking Christmas! Yum!

  3. I love the adult version. Hope you’re having a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

