A Bridal Shower Tea (a great Gazpacho recipe too!)

IMG_0604

I recently had the honor of hosting a bridal shower for my lovely cousin, Brooke.  For her outdoor wedding she is featuring ferns rather than flowers.  I decided to go with a forest theme for the shower.  I made the centerpieces out of found wood and moss (though you can buy moss at the craft store), potted ferns that doubled as door prizes, and added these adorable mushrooms from Germany.  They are the same mushrooms I used at Christmas time in my Mini Gnome Terrariums.  Our shower was in the afternoon so we decided to make it a tea party.

IMG_0602

Chanterelle placed the mushrooms perfectly.

IMG_0601

The Menu (for about 18 guests)

IMG_0594

I always have a drinks table that’s self-serve!

My Aunt Kathy

My Aunt Kathy The M.O.B.

I made these pretty tissue pom-poms in about an hour.  They are really easy to make.  Here is a link to the instructions.  I noticed that there are all kinds of places to buy these – don’t do it!  I made these for about $4 and it was truly easy and quick to do.

Finger sandwiches can be filled with whatever you like.  Here are a couple of tips to make them Martha-perfect:  Assemble them the same day of your event, wrap tightly and chill.  Do not slice them until just before serving- this keeps the bread nice and soft and fresh.  Use a serrated knife in a sawing motion to cut the edges without squeezing out the filling.   Here is a link to my Champagne Deviled Egg Tea Sandwiches with more detailed instructions on assembling and cutting finger sandwiches.  I like to have a variety of three types of sandwiches so there is something for everyone, and make sure that at least one of them is vegetarian and/or dairy free. The last thing you want is for someone to show up and not be able to eat anything on the table but fruit!  For my cucumber sandwiches I used a vegan cream cheese substitute, but you could also use a vegan margarine like Earth Balance which tastes almost exactly like butter.  My mom’s salmon sandwiches were my favorite: cream cheese, salmon, capers, and chives on rye bread!

IMG_0598 IMG_0599

My mom and I co-hosted the shower and decided to split up the food items.  I picked out the macarons at Petit Provence on SE Division.  She chose the almond cake from New Seasons. Both desserts were lovely.  We also both reflected on how much easier it was to make some of the food ourselves and leave the hard things to the baking professionals.  I sometimes need to be reminded that not everything on the table has to be homemade or from scratch.  It’s an annoying quirk of mine that I am working on:)

IMG_0596

My vegan blueberry muffins were really pale and not very tasty looking. Nothing a sprinkling of powdered sugar can’t fix!

My culinary contribution to the table was the chilled watermelon gazpacho.  Sounds odd I know.  It was really delicious.  Sweet, spicy, tart, refreshing, savory, all in one sip.  We served them in little individual glass cups so we didn’t need spoons.  Gazpacho has to be really cold, so make it a day in advance and chill it.  Put your serving tray and cups into the fridge too and don’t take them out until you’re ready to serve.

IMG_0609

Watermelon Gazpacho- serves 10 as a first course or 20 as a little appetizer

  • 8 C. chopped watermelon
  • 4 C. chopped tomatoes
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 C. fresh basil leaves
  • 4 Celery stalks, chopped
  • zest and juice of 2 limes
  • 4 T. rice wine vinegar
  • 2 t. salt
  • 1 t. pepper
  • 1/4 C. olive oil
  • 1/2 t. red pepper flakes

Place all the ingredients into a large bowl and stir to combine.  Working in batches, puree the mixture in the food processor or blender until smooth.  Transfer to a large pitcher and chill overnight.  Adapted from New Seasons

IMG_0593

The favors were bags of Tazo tea in these cute little linen bags from Collage.  I stamped the bags with a lovebird stamp and tied a pretty teaspoon to each one.  The spoons came from a few different thrift stores and sales.  Thanks Aunt Judy for your help finding the spoons!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Holidays and Special Occasions, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bridal Shower Tea (a great Gazpacho recipe too!)

  1. Kathy says:

    Thanks from Aunt Kathy for this lovely shower. The food was all tasty and elegant, and the setting in your yard was perfect. That was my first gazpacho, and I can’t wait to try my own. We have lots of cucumbers and basil, and the tomatoes are coming on. I even found garlic growing in my back yard after harvesting the allium flowers! The cloves are huge and the flavor very mild, more like elephant garlic, so I use three times the amount called for. Thanks for posting the recipe and all the pictures of this memorable occasion.

Leave a Reply

