Kale and Blueberry Super Salad

IMG_0482

My husband was eating a deli salad from Safeway a few days ago and liked it so much he took a picture of it and texted it to me.  This is a pretty rare occurrence, and has never, ever happened with a salad.  Here is my recreation.  Serves 8-10.

  • 2 bunches of Lacinato (dark green/purple) kale, thinly sliced across the grain
  • 1 C. fresh blueberries
  • 1 C. shelled sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 – 1 C. dried cranberries
  • 1/2 head of red cabbage, shredded
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 C. champagne or white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 C. olive oil
  • 2 t. sugar, or 2 packets of stevia powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

To slice the kale, stack up a few leaves and slice them into thin shreds perpendicular to the stalk. Toss the kale, berries, seeds, cabbage and shallot together in a large bowl.  In a jar with a lid, shake the dressing ingredients together to combine and pour over the salad.  Toss to combine, cover and chill for about two hours before serving.  This can be served at room temperature which makes it great for a potluck.  Just try to make it ahead so it has some time to sit and absorb all those flavors.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kale and Blueberry Super Salad

  1. Libby Ramirez says:

    Hooray! Thanks Carrie!

  2. Pingback: Barbecue Round Up | swellkid

  3. Susan says:

    Thank you so much. I just discovered the Safeway kale salad and as I was eating it I knew I had to make it at home. BUT, I was stressed at the thought of guessing how much of everything and the time it would take to get it right. Hoping it was on the Safeway site I stumbled on your recipe. I just made a huge bowel and I am it salad heaven. THANK YOU!

  4. Sharon Anderson says:

    It has thinly slice red onions in it and some other kind of fruit, possibly whole cranberries? I love this salad. I am going to try to make it as well!

  5. Robin Brown says:

    I also had this delicious salad and loved it. The clerk told me the dressing is made with red wine vinegar and pomegranate juice to balance and sweeten the tartness. Also, I noticed the onion was finely minced red onion. The fresh blueberries (and yes, I think there were also dreid cranberries/Craisin also add to the beautiful colors. I’m not sure if the nuts were finely sliced almonds, pepitas or something else entirely, so I’m going back for some more. Your recipe looks pretty close and is probably just as delicious. Thanks for posting your re-creation.

  6. Tehani says:

    Your magical powers if recreation are astounding! I swapped out the dried cranberries for fresh raspberries. So delicious.

  7. Jo Ann Scheu says:

    I bought this salad at Giant and I too love it. I am anxious to use this recipe to see how close it comes to the store bought brand.

Leave a Reply

