Thin Mints Ice Cream Cake

IMG_0420

Every year I buy several boxes of Thin Mints from the Girl Scouts and stash them in the freezer.  After the kids go to bed my husband and I will eat a few, ice-cold, out of the freezer.  By some miracle, I still had enough left to make this easy “cake”.  If you have any Thin Mints left in your freezer, this is a winner – no baking involved.

  • I roll of Thin Mints (the box comes with two rolls.  That other one will be really lonely in the box all by itself, so you’d better go ahead and eat it while you’re making this.)
  • 1 pint of mint chocolate chip ice cream, softened to a spreadable consistency.

Line a 6 inch cake pan or ramekin with parchment paper.  Just go ahead and press the paper into the bottom and up the sides, it will be crinkly and uneven in places, no biggie.  Place the cookies in a freezer bag and crush them to a crumbly powder.  Sprinkle half the crumbs into the bottom of the pan.  Drop the softened ice cream on top of the crumbs and use a spatula to spread it evenly.  Sprinkle the remaining crumbs on top.  Pop the whole thing into the freezer for at least 1-2 hours.  Before serving, use the parchment to lift the cake out of the pan.  Peel it away from the cake and place it on a serving plate.  Cut it into wedges with a knife dipped in warm water.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Holidays and Special Occasions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thin Mints Ice Cream Cake

  1. Persnickety says:

    A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. Your cake recipe sounds delicious. I love Ice Cream Cake Roll!

    I came up with my own version of an Ice Cream Cake Roll. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2013/01/ice-cream-cake-roll.html

Leave a Reply

