Cava and Rose Cocktail

I came back from San Francisco with some wonderful dried rosebuds that I bought in a tea shop in Chinatown.  They make the most delicately fragranced tea.  I love the scent and flavor of rose, but I’m not really much of a tea drinker so I started thinking of other ways I could use these little beauties.  Simple syrups flavored with herbs seem to be all the rage these days.  This rose flavored simple syrup elevated my humble sparkling wine to an almost regal level.

In a small saucepan combine the rosebuds, sugar, and water.

Heat over medium until the mixture boils and the sugar is completely dissolved.  Remove the pan from heat and let the rosebuds steep for twenty minutes.  Strain the syrup into a jar and chill.  To make the cocktail, pour 1/2 oz. of rose syrup into a champagne flute.  Fill the rest of the glass with your sparkling white wine of choice. Garnish with another rosebud if desired, the dried ones float coquettishly on top.  Store the rose syrup in the fridge for up to two or three weeks.

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Drinks and Cocktails, Holidays and Special Occasions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cava and Rose Cocktail

  1. kristina says:

    great idea! i saw rose buds in a chinese market (what a coincidence!) last weekend and wondered what to do with them, too.

Leave a Reply

