Skate Wings Meuniere

Wow!  Skate wings are so delicious!  I found these at Newman’s Fish Market on NW 21st inside the City Market.  The fish monger was so helpful, pleasant, and positive.  I really recommend a visit.  If you haven’t tried skate before it’s like a mini sting ray.  The wings are ribbed and shaped like angel’s wings.  They taste very similar to razor clams, but are tender like sole rather than chewy like a clam.  I prepared them in the French Meuniere style, which sounds impressive, but it is really just a simple butter and lemon sauce. Serves 4-6

  • 1 1/2 lbs. skate wings, filled and boned
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4-1/2 C. flour
  • 4 T. butter, divided
  • Juice and zest of 1 lemon
  • 2-3 T. chopped, fresh parsley
  • lemon wedges for serving

Heat the oven to its lowest temperature; mine is 170 degrees.  Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Lay the skate wings out on a cutting board and season with salt and pepper.  Place the flour on a plate and dredge the skate wings in the flour, shaking off the excess.  Melt 1 T. of the butter in the skillet and fry two of the skate wings in the butter for about three minutes per side, or until golden brown.

Add a little more butter and continue cooking the wings, working in batches.  Place the finished wings on a plate and keep in the warm oven until all the wings are cooked.  Melt the last 1 or two T. of butter in the skillet and add the lemon zest and juice.  Stir quickly and pour over the wings.  Top with the fresh parsley, season again with salt and pepper, and serve with the lemon wedges.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Quick Dinners, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skate Wings Meuniere

  1. Oh to not live in a land-locked state….

  2. kristina says:

    I saw this at the fish longer. You would’ve loved the place. I’m going to try this recipe.

    • Let me know how they come out!

      • kristina says:

        Um yum! Went back to the monger and he said it’s been a long time. I kindly reminded him it was only a week. :) I looked at the skate. He remembers I asked about them last week and chickened out and got the cod instead. The wing was huge. It had bones but he said they’re soft and easy to eat around. I cut the wing in half so it could fit in the pan and cook move evenly. Then I coated in seasoned cornstarch and cooked in butter. Cornstarch makes it gluten free. Right? So good. So easy. Great piece of fish and affordable. In fact the bones are soft and really easy to remove after its cooked. Only $4.99 a pound. 2 meals. We ate the leftovers the next night because I heard skate has a short shelf life, even shorter than other fish. I’m making it again with lemon and parsley. I forgot last time.

      • The wings we had were boned- that must be why they were a lot more expensive. Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

