Black Bottomed Cupcakes

I’m not sure where the original recipe for these cupcakes came from.  My mom used to make these for my brother when we were kids.  They were his favorites.  These days I use a chocolate cake mix (gasp!) to speed up the process.  Each cupcake has a dense, cheescake-like center.  No need for frosting! Makes about 20 cupcakes.

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix ( I used Betty Crocker Super Moist, Dark Chocolate flavor)
  • 1 C. water
  • 1/2 C. sour cream
  • 3 eggs, divided
  • 1/2 C. canola oil
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1/4 C. sugar

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together the cake mix, water, sour cream, 2 eggs, and the oil.  Beat until the batter is smooth.  Drop into a muffin tin lined with cupcake papers and sprayed with non-stick spray.  Fill each cup about two-thirds full.  In another bowl, combine the cream cheese, chocolate chips, remaining egg, vanilla, and sugar.  Drop the cream cheese mixture by spoonfulls (about 2T.) into each cupcake.  The cream cheese mixture will sink into the batter.  Bake for about 18-20 minutes or until set.  Cool and store in the fridge if they last that long.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Bottomed Cupcakes

  1. I have made these, too. Think I still have the original recipe from the days of “who cares?” eating. They are tasty treats, tho!

  2. I love using sour cream in batters. Looks great.

  3. Pingback: Mini Key Lime Cheesecakes | swellkid

Leave a Reply

