Mocha Pots de Creme

I’ve been wanting to make pots de creme for a while now.  I’ve been searching for the right recipe.  To be honest, the idea of cooking the custard and then baking it in a water bath seemed a little daunting.  I came across this recipe from one of my favorite blogs, The Pioneer Woman Cooks.  She’s come up with a brilliant, near instant chocolate/coffee pots de creme.  I tried it myself and I’m thrilled with the results.  I’m eating it right now, it’s mousse-like and cold.  The first taste is rich chocolate, not too sweet, with a bitter, coffee finish.  This is Mom’s dessert, probably not for kids, unless you want them up all night.

  • 12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 4 eggs, room temperature, or put them into a bowl of warm water for a couple of minutes
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 8 oz. hot brewed coffee
  • 1 T. sugar
  • whipped cream and cocoa powder for dusting

Place the chocolate chips into the blender.  Crack the eggs in and pour in the vanilla.  Get your coffee boiling hot in the microwave in a pourable container.  Add the sugar to the coffee and stir to dissolve.  Turn on the blender and as soon as you start blending, take out the center circle in the blender lid and pour in the hot coffee with the machine running.  Let it run for about a minute, or until all the ingredients are fully blended.  Pour into 6 ramekins and chill for at least 3 hours before serving.  Garnish with a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkling of cocoa powder.  So easy and so yummy!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Gluten Free, Holidays and Special Occasions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mocha Pots de Creme

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    How many yummy calories is this?

  2. Oh no no no… now that’s naaughhttyyy!!!

  3. Oh that looks wonderful. I’ve done creme brulee before and Katherine did a water bath for a bread pudding, but we’ve never made these.

  4. Chris macca says:

    Why didn’t we have these at the tea party? They look so good and easy.

  5. Pingback: Mini Key Lime Cheesecakes | swellkid

Leave a Reply

