Guest Blogger: Red Pepper Jelly Shrimp

Here is a recipe from the woman who inspired me to become a good cook, my mom.  In her own words:

A friend brought a jar of pepper jelly on New Year’s Eve for an appetizer of goat cheese and jelly served on crackers that was delicious but we had half of a the jar left over so I thought of the shrimp dish.  It’s really yummy if you like red peppers.

  • 1 inch piece of fresh ginger, minced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1 T. Canola oil
  • 1 medium Red pepper, sliced in thin strips
  • 16 large shrimp
  • 1 t. Cornstarch
  • 2 t. Rice vinegar
  • 1 T. Soy sauce
  • 2 t. Hoisin sauce
  • 1 t. Sesame oil
  • 1/3 C. Red pepper jelly
  • Cooked basmati rice

Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Sauté ginger, garlic, and shallot in oil for two to three minutes.  Add red pepper and cook until softened.  Add shrimp, stirring until just cooked, about 3 minutes. Meanwhile, mix cornstarch, vinegar, soy sauce, hoisin, sesame oil and red pepper jelly to make a sauce. Add the sauce mixture to the shrimp and pepper mixture and cook for about a minute, or until the sauce is thickened.  Serve over rice.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Asian, Quick Dinners, Seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest Blogger: Red Pepper Jelly Shrimp

  1. Looks just wonderful. I love that vivid color.

  2. Yummy! I would love to try this one…especially because I know where to get that pepper jelly — I am the friend that brought it to the fabulous New Year’s soiree…
    Thanks for sharing,
    Love this blog – i am signing up…

  3. Rebecca says:

    Wow! Looks great. She is so inventive

Leave a Reply

