Classic Pumpkin Pie

I’ve never made a pumpkin pie with a real pumpkin before now.  I’ve made several with canned pumpkin of course, but the real thing has always seemed a little elusive.  I guess I thought it would be too hard.  It’s really not too much more effort.  Your oven really does all the work.  The biggest difference is the texture.  The real pumpkin is lighter and more textured than the dense, smoothness of canned pumpkin.  The real pumpkin definitely has a more homemade, rustic quality.  I guess I equate it to the difference between a homemade cookie and a bakery one; not necessarily better or worse, but certainly different. I baked two pumpkins and put half of the puree in the freezer for another use.  You can expect to get about 1 1/2 C. of pumpkin puree from a pie pumpkin that is 6-8 inches tall.

  • 2 small pie pumpkins
  • 1 1/2 C. sweetened, condensed milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. ginger
  • 1/2 t. fresh grated nutmeg
  • 1 pinch of clove
  • 3/4 C. hot water
  • 1 9″ pie shell, click here for recipe

Heat your oven to 350 degrees.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil.  Cut the pumpkins in half and scoop out the seeds.  Place them cut side down on the baking sheet and bake for 1 hour and 20-30 minutes, or until they are extremely soft.

Let them cool and then scoop out the flesh into a large bowl.  Mash the pumpkin with a potato masher or large fork.

Combine 1 1/2 C. mashed pumpkin with all the other ingredients.  Stir just until combined.  Pour into an unbaked pie shell.  I like to bake my pies in a glass pie plate so that I can look at the bottom of the crust to see if it’s thoroughly baked.  Bake at 375 degrees for 55-65 minutes.  Cool before slicing.  Serve with whipped cream.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Holidays and Special Occasions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Classic Pumpkin Pie

  1. Pumpkin pie is my favorite! I typically make them with organic canned pumpkin, just for the sake of time. I’ve only made one with a whole pumpkin. It was quite tasty! Yours looks delicious! :)

  2. Joanne says:

    I absolutely love pumpkin pie. I’ve never worked with fresh pumpkin but I really should. My store doesn’t carry the fresh pumpkins yet…but it should soon!

  3. One of my favorites. This looks wonderful.

  4. One of my favorite fall desserts!

  5. Pingback: 10 Things You Can Do TODAY To Get Ready For Thanksgiving | swellkid

Leave a Reply

