Homemade Potato Chips

I got a mandolin slicer for my birthday (thanks Harley!) and to inaugurate it I made potato chips.  If you’re not familiar with a mandolin it’s a tool that enables you to slice things in incredibly thin, perfectly even slices.  I had so much fun using it that I spent the afternoon thinking about all the things I could be slicing.  I realize that I am a complete food nerd…

  • 2 medium russet potatoes
  • peanut oil for frying
  • sea salt

Begin by heating a fryer or heavy pot of peanut oil, at least two inches deep, to 375 degrees.  Meanwhile, use a mandolin to slice the potatoes as thin as possible.  My slicer’s thinnest setting is 1/16th of an inch.

 

This is basically thin enough to see light through the slices.  Place the potato slices into a bowl of cold water.  Rinse the slices in cold water a couple of times. Lay out the slices on paper towels and pat dry.  Fry in batches for about three minutes, or until the chips turn golden brown.  If the oil doesn’t bubble when you drop in the chips then it’s not hot enough.  Use a wire strainer to lift the chips out of the oil, place into a paper towel lined bowl and immediately sprinkle with salt.

Barbecue Seasoning (so good I wanted to make out with it)

  • 1 t. kosher salt
  • 1/2 t. paprika
  • 1/2 t. chili powder
  • 1/4 t. garlic powder

Make the chips as directed.  Put the salt and spices into a paper bag.  Remove the chips from the fryer with a mesh strainer and place into the paper bag.  Shake to coat and serve.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Potato Chips

  1. judy says:

    Oh yum! Hope you are going to bring some to the parade tomorrow!

  2. Pingback: Barbecue Round Up | swellkid

Leave a Reply

