Bacon and Egg Cupcakes

This came from a fellow food blogger Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide who got the idea from another blogger, Fifteen Spatulas (check out how clean her muffin tins are).  So, no credit to me for the recipe, just the new silly name.  I saw these and knew I had to make them for my boys who LOVE a good runny yolk.  “But the albumen should be cooked” my 5 year old says.  Albumen?  Really? When I was 5 I’m pretty sure I just called it the whites…

Plan on two of these per adult and one per child.  This recipe makes 6.

  • 6 slices of good quality bacon
  • 3 pieces of good bread, toasted
  • 3 T. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 6 eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • cooking spray

First cook the bacon until almost crispy- it needs to be flexible.  For my bacon it was about four minutes per side on medium heat.  Lay the bacon on a paper towel.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Meanwhile toast the bread and then cut it into 6 circles that will fit snugly into the bottom of your muffin tin.  I used a large shot glass to cut mine and was able to get two circles out of each slice.  Spray your muffin tin with cooking spray and place the toast circles into the bottom.  Wrap the bacon slices around the inside of each muffin cup.

  

Sprinkle a little of the cheese into each cup.  Crack an egg into each cup and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake until the “albumen” is just set, about 12 minutes.  Use a little, thin offset spatula to run around the edges and pop them out.  I’m not sure how far in advance you could make these, but I think you could prep them all and have them ready to pop in the oven.  What a great dish for a brunch party!

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bacon and Egg Cupcakes

  1. Chris macca says:

    When can I come for breakfast? This looks yummy.

  2. Joanne says:

    Yours look fantastic!!!!! And your 5 year old is amazing! hahahahaa. The next Alton Brown?

    • Thanks for the great recipe- hopefully you will get a few hits from it:) I don’t usually copy other people’s recipes, but this idea was just so great, I knew my followers would love it. Thanks again!

  3. Carrah says:

    Oh man, those look so good. Wondered if there is a way to search your recipes so I can find it again when I want it. Can you do that on your blog?
    Carrah

    • Thanks Carrah! Yes, there is a way to search. In the upper right corner of every post is a search box. Just type in the name or keyword. You can also search for all the recipes of a certain type, like all the apple recipes, or all the fish recipes…

  4. Brennan says:

    My mom used to make these! She called them baked eggs…this brings back memories! I don’t think she did the toast on the bottom though…

  5. Hee, hee. They do look like cupcakes. I’m glad you tried them. Although, yours are neater than ours. Oh well, Katherine won’t mind! Glad you tired them!

  6. ceciliag says:

    Oh I missed these ones, I love all things egg.. thanks for posting it, we might have them for breakfast tomorrow.. c

  7. Alanna says:

    That looks amazing. I’d like to try making it with a really sharp cheddar

  8. Daniela says:

    Just made these for lunch, gorgeous, thought mine didnt look anywhere near as neat as yours! I especially love the way the juices from the bacon then soak into the toast at the bottom :)

  9. Pingback: Easter Recipe Round Up | swellkid

Leave a Reply

