Pattypan Gratin

A gratin (gruh-Tan) is any shallow baked dish that has a browned top.  In this case the browned top comes from butter and parmesan cheese.  The pattypan squash is looking great in the markets right now, but you could substitute any type of summer squash or zucchini.

  • 3-4 large pattypan squash, cut into thin slices
  • 1 clove of garlic, thinly sliced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 C. fresh parsley, minced
  • 1/2 C. cream
  • 1 T. butter, cut into small cubes
  • 2 T. parmesan cheese, grated

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees.  Butter a gratin dish or other shallow baking dish.  Place one layer of squash slices in the bottom.  Sprinkle with a little of the garlic, parsley, salt, and pepper.  Make another layer of squash, sprinkle with a little garlic, parsley, salt, and pepper.  Continue until all the squash, garlic, and parsley are used up.  Pour the cream over the top and shake the dish gently to settle it.  Dot the top with the butter and sprinkle with the parmesan cheese.  Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until the cream is bubbling and the top is golden brown.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pattypan Gratin

  1. Libby Ramirez says:

    Two 12 year old boys turned up their noses upon hearing the veggie in this dish. Both asked for seconds after having their “compliments to the chef bites”! The gratin dish was empty upon table clearing time! Delicious!!!!!!

  2. Rebecca says:

    I made this the other night – quite good. I used milk instead of cream, but I also reduced the amount so it was only slightly soupy. I also added bread crumbs to the top so I could cut back a bit on the cheese and butter. Despite the modifications it was still tasty!! And I liked it better than your mom’s recipe – hers had a ton of onions.

  3. rosemarried says:

    I don’t often use Pattypan squash and I have a bunch of them right now — this is a perfect use for them, thank you!

Leave a Reply

