Pulled Pork Sandwiches

I guess I’m in a sandwich mood this week!  I used my own barbecue sauce for this dish, but of course bottled barbecue sauce will work just fine.  If I am buying it, I usually buy Sweet Baby Ray’s which can be found at any grocery store.  This is a great one for those days when you won’t get home until 6 and you just need dinner to be made for you!

  • 3 lb. Boneless pork shoulder
  • 1 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 2 t. chili powder
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • lots of fresh cracked black pepper
  • 1/4 C. water
  • 1-2 C. barbecue sauce
  • French rolls or hamburger buns

In the morning, put the pork shoulder in the slow cooker.  Sprinkle the salt, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and pepper over the top.  Pour the water in the bottom of the slow cooker.  Cook on low for ten hours.  Remove the pork to a shallow bowl or pan and shred with two forks.  Drizzle half the barbecue sauce over it and gently combine- don’t smoosh it too much!  Heap the meat onto the buns and serve with the extra sauce.

Alternatively, skip the barbecue sauce, serve the pork with corn tortillas and salsa!  Instant tacos.

Want another one? Skip the barbecue sauce, pour in a can of tomato sauce and some fresh basil and you made braised pork ragu!  Serve it over penne or rigatoni.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pulled Pork Sandwiches

  1. Andrea R. says:

    This is my weekly “Carrie Recipe.” I’m using Rudy’s BBQ sauce for the sauce. :)

Leave a Reply

