Turkey Roulade with Prune and Pine Nut Stuffing

I don’t usually plan what I’m cooking until I get to the meat or the fish counter.  I choose what looks good, or is a good price, and then I decide what to make from it all.  This week I found some great looking boneless turkey breasts with the skin still on.  I knew I had to make a roulade (fancy word for roll up).  Since there are only 3.5 of us eating, I bought a half breast.  This was the perfect amount for us.  If there were another adult or two I would make this with a whole breast.

  • 1/2 boneless turkey breast, skin on
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 C. fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 C. plain bread crumbs
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 T. grated parmesan
  • 3/4 C. prunes, chopped
  • 2 T. pine nuts, chopped
  • 2 T. olive oil, divided
  • kitchen twine

Lay the turkey breast out on a cutting board, skin side down.  With a meat mallet, pound the breast until it’s a uniform 1/2 inch thick.  Season liberally with salt and pepper.  In a bowl, combine the parsley, bread crumbs, lemon zest, parmesan, prunes, pine nuts, and 1 T. of the olive oil.  Spread the mixture out evenly on the turkey breast.

Roll the turkey up into a tight log.  Secure it with kitchen twine.  It’s ok if a little of the stuffing spills out.  Use 1 t. of the olive oil to rub on the outside of the turkey breast.  Season with salt and pepper.  Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  In an oven proof skillet, heat the rest of the oil on medium heat.  Brown the roulade in the oil on all sides. About two or three minutes per side.

Put the whole skillet in the oven and roast for 20 minutes.  Remove the roulade from the pan to a cutting board and tent with foil.

Let the roulade rest for 10 minutes.  Remove the twine and slice in 1/2 inch thick slices.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Holidays and Special Occasions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

