Red Cabbage Kimchi

Red Cabbage Kimchi

This spicy Korean condiment is great with grilled meat, on a sandwich, or stirred into some fried rice.  Traditional Kimchi is usually made with green cabbage, but I love the bright purple color of red cabbage.

  • 1 jalepeno, about 4 inches long
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 C. sugar
  • 2 T. ginger
  • 1 dried Thai red chili pepper
  • 2 T. fish sauce
  • 2 T. salt
  • 1/2 head red cabbage, chopped into large bite sized pieces.

Pulse all ingredients except the cabbage in a food processor until it forms a chunky paste.  Toss the paste with the cabbage to coat evenly.  Cover and refigerate for at least 3 hours.  This can be made up to three days in advance.  Yes, it is spicy and salty!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Asian, Gluten Free, Healthier Options and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Cabbage Kimchi

  1. Harley says:

    I absolutely love this dish, but it always reminds me of the Ralph Wiggum quote: “It tastes like burning!”

  2. Pingback: Korean Beef Lettuce Wraps | swellkid

Leave a Reply

